2005-10-22 : My Mother Has Cancer
We just found out today that my mom has ovarian cancer (and that she's most likely had it for awhile)...it's spread to a portion of her small intestine as well (according to the CAT scan)...I am so sad that there are no words to even accurately describe how I feel.

She first started noticing that her abdomen was feeling bloated and gassy around 3 weeks ago. She thought she was just having some GI problems or not eating enough of the right sorts of food, etc. Then she thought maybe she was having gallbladder problems. On Thursday she went to a doctor and he sent her for an ultrasound which revealed that her abdominal cavity is filled with fluid. She told me the formal name for this (she's a nurse) but I can't remember what it's called. Yesterday she had a CAT scan of her abdominal region and today we found out the results. Her abdomen is so distended right now that it looks like she's 7 months pregnant. I'm trying not to look at it as a death sentence but we all know that survival rates for ovarian cancer are not very good. Please pray for us all.