2005-10-26 : Mom is having Surgery Today
Thanks to everyone that has sent kind wishes and prayers and good vibes and HUGS. It means SO much to me. I am lucky to have such a great group of on-line (and off line) friends!! Mom says she can actually feel that people are sending her thoughts and prayers, etc. and that is feels very comforting and good..so keep it up!!

Well, mom is having surgery today. They'll be removing her uterus and both ovaries plus anything else necessary. Unfortunately, they found some tumors in or along her rectum so the worst case scenario if they have to remove a large section of that is that she'll end up having to use a colostmy bag (I think that is the correct term) for the rest of her life. Still, that's better than not living at all. I am trying to have great hope that she will come out of all of this with flying colors. Maybe it is false hope, but I HAVE to be positive, both for myself and to help her. She is very strong and she said she is not afraid to die. She also said that she plans to fight this thing with every ounch of strength she has and I believe her.