2005-11-13 : We Remember When We Were Young
There is a hole in the roof and the squirrels are digging/running around in there and they sound like monsters (VERY LOUD)...Too bad we don't have a 25 foot ladder so that Larry can fix the hole in the roof.

Last night we went out for the first time in ages (or so it seems)! It was "Live 80's night" at this little hippie bar called Sam Bonds. Our friend, Jason K., was the opening solo act. We drank a few VERY STRONG micro-brews and listened to his genius renditions of 80's classics (and I don't mean Paula Abdul songs)...He started out with Joy Division ("Insight") which he did fairly straight forward. He also did a brilliant medley of The Violent Femmes/Blondie/The Specials/UB40 and a couple of Misfits songs. His twangy "good ole boys don't cry" of "Boy's Don't Cry" was hilarious. It really is a perfect country song if you think about it. What else did he do? Another twangy version of "Sister Christian", a Subhumans song (most of these were done in full on twang)..my favorite probably being his cover of "Kerosene" (Big Black) and "The Metro" (Berlin).

Then Steve (who originally hails from Southern Illinois..strange) and his band, The New Romans, played a full on electric set of such schlock as "Beat It", "The Safety Dance" and a couple of Ozzy tunes mixed in with more improvised (the bass player looked confused many times!) and more obscure things such as The Butthole Surfers (which song, I couldn't tell ya, but I knew it was them right away...It just had that Gibby feel) and a splendidly fucked up version of Iggy Pop's "Repo Man" which I danced to...alone. I also danced to Devo's "Gates of Steel"...alas, alone again, but I had a blast. My legs are sore today!

Anyways, I'm tired because I haven't had enough sleep. I plan on eating breakfast and watching movies. I also plan on wearing my pajamas all day.