2006-06-06 : The Past 11 Days
So, I haven't updated in 11 days. That is pretty bad for me. Port Townsend was great. We loved "The Old Consulate Inn". It was gorgeous inside and out. On our first night there it was early evening and we were leaving the B&B to walk into town (it's not a bad walk) when I heard something move in the bushes. Larry leaned over and saw an adorable fawn (Bambi spots and everything!) just looking at us and then it walked into the backyard of the B&B. We went up on the wrap around porch and very quietly sat down on a porch swing that faced the backyard. Very close to us (the closest I've ever been to a deer) was a BIG mama deer (doh..I guess you'd call her a DOE). She was statue still (she even LOOKED like a statue at first) and just staring us down. Then we saw two fawns in the bushes behind her trying to catch up to where she was. It was magical. We stared and they stared and we were statue still and so were they. Eventually we came out of our trances and go up slowly and quietly left the property.

We went to a lot of shops (some selling antiques and some not)...Port Townsend has the most fab antique book store. I ended up buying 2 old "Health/Hygiene" genre books (I am obsessed with these)..One is from 1912 and is called "Viavi Hygiene" (it's rather sexist and hilarious, but also disturbing in it's sexism) and the other was originally published in 1912 (but I purchased the 1937 edition). I was amused right away by the hilarious title, "Sane Sex Life, Sane Sex Living"..I think it was a pretty radical book about sex for it's time (though it, too, has a lot of sexist bullshit in it) but it talks about the..*whispers* "clitoris" and *whispers* "male and female orgasm" (The old fashion word is "spending or spent" for orgasming, though) and it encourages and pretty much insists that it is every good husbands duty to please his wife sexually and not be selfish and demand that just HIS sexual desire be taken care of. I also bought a copy of Somerset Maugham's "The Razor's Edge" (I love Maugham)..it's from 1946 or so if I recall.

There was also a store going out of business that was "All Things Lavendar" and boy did they mean it. EVERYTHING (teas, soaps, cremes, honey, sachets, dream pillows, doggy shampoo and powder) contained small to large quantities of Lavendar. It smelled heavenly in there. We some different varities of Goat's Milk Soap (I got Lavendar and Vanilla scented) and I bought some sachets, etc.

At another antique store I bought Larry and old Chinese snuff bottle (turn-of-the-century) I would assume)..It is of the "erotic" kind and features a fairly graphic sexual scene involving a man and two women on the front. He's decided he wants to collect old snuff/opium bottles, which I think is cool. Many of them are very beautiful!! I also ended up getting an old Victorian camisole and Petticoat. The woman gave both of them to me for 50% off. She wanted to be rid of them because they'd been sitting in the store for 6 years or more! SCORE!!

What else did we do? We went to see "The Davinci Code" at The Rose Theatre (which is an old theater..very cool! I'd been there before a few times) The movie was good. It didn't blow me away, though. One movie we saw recently which was AMAZING (though slow in parts) was an Irish flick called "Breakfast on Pluto"..google it or look on imdb.com. It was funny and strange and fascinating!!

We also ended up going to this bar called "Sirens" to see a band from Seattle (The Blakes) play. We'd never heard them and we are glad we went. They were really good. Sloppy and fun. Very RAWK. I won't even try to describe their sound. We ended up talking to two of the three band members (the singer and bassist are brothers) and they were nice guys. They also were given the COOLEST (if not strangest) birth names: The singer's name was "Garnet" and the bassist was "Snow". I asked if those were TRULY their names and I THINK they told me the truth. Garnet said their parents were pretty "woodsy people" which made me laugh. They were very cute, too. Girls seemed to be surrounding them. I didn't want to appear to be hitting on them, I just wanted to talk to them. Larry was with me anyways (ha ha!) So, we got a big kick out of them. It is SO refreshing to see a band full of what LOOKS like typical "Seattle hipsters" (You may or may not know what I mean by that unless you've spent significant time in Seattle)..anyways, I figured they'd be unapproachable because they were so fashionable, but they actually approached me first. Nice guys finish FIRST sometimes, not last!!

Ok, onto the crappy crap. Mom had to call 911 yesterday morning. Our neighbor called Larry and told him that she was being loaded into an ambulance and was going to Sacred Heart. Larry and I rushed over to the Emergency Room. I was trying to calm myself down because I had NO information about what was wrong with her. I ended up spending 5 HOURS in the Emergency ROOM until they admitted her to the hospital. I HATE emergency areas..ick, ick..I totally feel like freaking out in places like that. I hate hospitals anyway. So, the reason mom called 911 was because she had this sudden really dizzy and weak spell and felt that she was on the verge of passing out. These rounds of chemo (she's had 3 now since they found the new tumor) are KICKING HER ASS. No matter what she does she ends up getting really dehydrated and weak because she can't seem to intake enough liquid or food because she is so bloated and constipated and nauseated (though she is taking anti-nauseau meds they don't work well enough, I guess)...So, x-rays reveal that she has a bowel obstruction. They are opting NOT to do surgery unless it gets worse. They want to see if they can figure out what the obstruction is, etc. and get it opened up a different way. I feel so bad for mom. I feel so bad for myself. I'm SICK OF THIS SHIT!! Anyways, I'll be leaving work early to go to the hospital to be with her for awhile. Oh, I almost forgot. I am seriously thinking about applying for 2007 Fall Semester Creative Writing Master's program at the UofO. I've been wanting to go back to school and get my MA for awhile and I decided I should do it in what I love, which is poetry/writing. I have until jan. 07 to apply, so there is no rush. Isn't that exciting?