2006-11-05 : My VERY First Auction and Weasku Inn
We did two really cool things this weekend.
#1: We drove to Oak Ridge (makes me think of the Oak Ridge Boys...yikes!) which is a very pretty little town up in the hills (about 40 miles from here) and went to an auction. My very first EVER auction. I still laugh at the way the auctioneer speaks. I don't think I could ever speak that quickly (they must go to auctioneer school..seriously!) Anyways, I swear that they auctioned off about 100 "very old and unique" (auctioneer's words not mine) chainsaws, plus some cool old cars and a bunch of kitschy country-ish crap. BUT, we did get a few cool things. We got an old (I'm thinking 1930s or 1940s..but I need to research) Brunswick Phonograph. I've wanted a "talking machine" for So long. We got it for $125.00 which seems like a steal. It happened to have TONS of old 78s (and those really heavy Edison slabs...I guess those are older 78s?) I'm trying to learn more about 78s) in the shelving units inside. It needs a new needle but the one (it seems like it should have TWO needles..one to play the thicker/older Edison 78s and one to play the slightly thinner 78s)..Anyways, the needle worked well enough to enjoy "Dew Drop" (which I think is from the mid to late 1920s) and has some guy named Alfred Bernard singing in sort of a black-face style. He also has this guy named Frank Kamplain that does some yodeling in the song...very silly and weird (and kind of offensive..a white man imitating a black man in the 1920's)!! I can't get over how WONDERFUL it sounds to play those Old records on that Old phonograph. Such a cool feeling! We also got a Chinese "Emporer" chair..probably turn of the century. It is made of rosewood and has a lot of detailing in mother of pearl and the big seat is a beautiful brown/beige marble slab. Got the chair for $300.00 which also seems like a steal. What else? Oh yea..I had to get these old rollerskates (they have wooden wheels)..they happen to fit but be a little big..those were $7.50. I also had to get an old spinning wheel because it reminds me of my Grandma Marie, who had one in her bedroom for the longest time. Oh, and I bought an old autoharp. Might have paid too much for it ($80.00) but hopefully I can sort of teach myself to play it. Anyways..I have come to the conclusion that auctions RULE!

#2: We drove down yesterday afternoon to Grants Pass (Southern Oregon)..cool little town. Didn't explore much, but ended up checking into a great bed-n-breakfast called "Weasku Inn"...It's a historic lodge (log cabin style) that Clark Gable used to stay at during his vacations. It is right on the Rogue River and when they renovated the whole place they added 11 small, cozy cabins on the water and we stayed in one of those. Big log beams on the ceilings...really nice decor...great bathroom....a bed more comfortable than our own, a working fireplace and a wraparound deck to sit on in rocking chairs that face the river.

I didn't want to leave for some reason. It was just so cozy and nice. I just feel like I want to be on permanent vacation these days. Sometimes I feel emotionally distraught when I'm here in this house alone during the day...I know that is normal...I miss mom so much. I feel so much better when we take special trips, etc...when I do things that have no connection to mom or Sarah at all..does that make sense? That is why I cannot WAIT to go to Europe. March cannot come soon enough. I should be buying my ticket in the next 2 weeks Anyway, God...this is rambling. Hope you enjoyed reading about my weekend adventures!! What adventures have YOU had lately?

Ps...I'm sure it's very "touristy" and pricey but I have decided that one place in England that I HAVE to go to is Bath. I saw a travel show on it and love everything about it. I also want to stay in this place called Thornberry Castle but it's probably horribly expensive...I'll have to research it.