2006-11-17 : Walking in LA (Who Remembers that song?)
As soon as Larry gets home from work (hopefully he'll get home around 2:30pm at the latest) we will put our suitcases in the Mini and we'll be off to Portland. We are spending the night (again) at McMenamin's "Edgefield" (google it, it's very cool!) and then we have to be at the Portland Airport at 4AM for our 6AM flight to L.A. tommorrow morning. Wish me luck in getting to sleep before midnight! Lately that is the time my body naturally wants to go to sleep. My body usually wants to get up around 8:30 or 9:00 am and not nearly as early as we'll be getting up tommorrow morning. Ok, I know...I really have it lucky right now, so I need to stop complaining.

It'll be warm in L.A. and cooler in Denver so it was a challenge to pack both summer clothing AND fall/winter clothing without making my suitcase way 40 pounds! I managed to do it, though. Rolling clothes (insteading of folding them) takes up much less space AND leaves them less wrinkled. Gee, I should write for Rick Steves or something..ha ha!!

I haven't been to LA since I was a young teenager. I don't remember anything about it. It isn't someplace that I'm totally psyched about. California in general has never interested me all that much (well, except San Fran and northern Cali) but I'm sure I'll find plenty of interesting things and people to gawk at. I want to go to the Sunset Strip, of course. I heard there is some quirky "museum of death" and I'm all about weird museums! Despite having dealt with so much DEATH this past year, I have never lost my morbid sense of curiosity and humor. I must admit that I cannot go onto Rotten.com anymore, though.

Sunday, Larry, Robert (Larry's brother) and I are all going to Catalina Island. That should be very cool. They are going diving and I am going to walk the Island and look in shops, etc. I'm looking forward to warmer/sunnier weather down there!

Larry and I fly to Denver next Wednesday to be with my brother/Carie/little Jo for Thanksgiving. I'm not looking forward to Thanksgiving. Sarah was murdered the day after Thanksgiving last year. I will try to make the best of it, though.