2008-02-05 : A slice of cherry pie in Perugino, a mysterious envelope..
Larry and few of our friends from the bar decided to meet up at a coffee shop yesterday afternoon just to do something different. The idea was to write, read, draw, etc. Do something creative, instead of meeting at the bar and just drinking beer and talking. T. suggested Perugino. Larry and I have walked by there many times with the intent of going in, and we finally did yesterday.

I will be going back there more frequently! It reminds me more of a big city (or bigger city, ie: Seattle) coffee shop and not a college town hang out: Brick walls, smallish place, lots of tables of varying size. They sell lots of pastries and salads and espresso (which I don't drink) and pies and cakes and bottles of wine. You can drink beer or coffee or wine or italian sodas or, in my case, an almond steamer. I also ate a piece of cherry pie (which left much to be desired, in all honesty, but I was spoiled by mom's pies!) But when I saw that they had cherry pie my heart skipped a beat. That is what pie does to me! It gives me tachycardia..ha ha! They play classical music (which is good for reading and writing to...I get distracted by words)..I started writing the story of an unhappily married woman who discovers a mysterious envelope on a hiking trail in a park. So, we'll see where this story goes. It is amazing when I can sit down with a blank page or two and suddenly fill it up with these bits of fiction of poetry or what have you. The more I go there and write the better my life will be. I feel happier when I'm creating and also when I'm not allowing myself to be a hermit in my house.

I continue to have problems sleeping at night. I will try to exercise really hard today and see if that helps. I don't like taking Nyquil to sleep. It makes me feel so groggy after I wake up and I sleep too long. For now, though, I will make a late breakfast of bacon and an egg and toast. I feel like clogging my arteries!