2008-03-09 : Fantasy Island or How I am a freak magnet..
I'm in Hawaii (on the Big Island, in Hilo)...and I've been here since Thursday evening. I'm not exactly bored, but well, I am sort of bored.
I just went to Mcdonalds and ate french fries and a Quarter Pounder with cheese (no ketchup) because for some reason today I really crave grease and salt. wow. Isn't that exciting? Did I walk on the beach tonight? No. Did I go to Mcdonalds? YES! Ugh.

A nice girl (that talks too much about astrophysics, though) who has been staying in the same dorm as me invited me to go along for a drive around parts of the Island today. We also had a shy Japanese girl come with us (also in the same female dorms)....We saw some cool waterfalls..WOW. We went to Mauna Lea (or whatever the fuck it's called) where all the famous Macadamia nut products from Hawaii come from. I bought some Macadamia Nut Rum cake and some other shit (I forget)..WOW. We drove down to where lava WAS flowing into the ocean only to find out that it had stopped flowing last night, so we left (along with 50 other people)..WOW. We also drove through Pahoa on the way to the lava-flow-that-wasn't. I fucking hate Pahoa. I hated it when my sister was still alive and now I hate it even more. I hate Puna, too. I won't say I hate Hawaii, but in all honesty I sort of do. It is all because of her death that I hate it. The place in Pahoa that we stopped for lunch in, though, had awesome biscuits and gravy. They riveled Grandma Marie's. It was hard to sit in Pahoa, though. I felt like screaming. I'm being slightly melodramatic, actually. We also drove up to Volcano National Park. Cool view of a crater. Too bad the vog (like fog, but only with sulphur and made from volcanoes) was so bad that I could taste the sulphur in my mouth. It tasted like I was chewing on charcoal gum. It also made me have to use my inhaler, god damn it. Mother nature (Pele) was against us today, I guess. I'm also having some annoying problems with allergies. It seems to be the worst when I'm lying in bed at night..not sure what is causing it. Damn, I'm a whiner. I'm in "paradise" and all I can do is bitch.

Went the other night to a bar to drink a few beers. Paid $5 to hear the end of a shitty fucking jazz band. The next band was going to be reggae (I could tell because all the members were wearing Bob Marley t-shirts, I shit you not) and I didn't want to stick around for that. If you don't know me, you probably don't know that though I used to like reggae somewhat I can't stand to hear it now. It bores the shit out of me. Anyways, before I left, an older Kahuna (or so he professed to be) came up and asked if he could sit with me. I knew this was going to be interesting. He was wearing head-to-toe red and had big white sunglasses. He was a retired life guard. He also told me I was attractive in a "plain and simple way"...we bitched about Bush and he complained about Whitey coming and taking land from the Hawaiians. I listened sympathetically. He also said I should have a baby with him. At that point I went to the bathroom and left the bar.

I have nothing against the Swiss or the Germans but the two girls of that persuasion that are in our dorm room are little snobby fucking bitches. They liked Kona better because it had "less locals" (ie: Hawaiians)...Jesus. I hate attitudes like that. They are probably all of 19, though. Damn, I'm grumpy. Listening to "Death From Above 1979" is helping me, though.

Larry is coming here on Thursday. I can't wait. Sick of this place in a way (at least being here alone)...Oh, the murder trial is now supposed to happen in June. I don't even fucking feel like going now, but I will.

This hostel is amazing though. All the staff knows about what happened to Sarah and they have been spoiling me rotten and treating me more special than the other guests, which rocks. Sometimes I like that sort of attention.

Oh, on a positive note, I was walking down by the water Friday and this dude was walking across the street and he yelled "HEY" at me (in a friendly way, not in a "I'm gonna kill you way") and I said "Hey, yea?" He said "Whattchya doin'?" I said "Nuttin'. I'm wandering around looking for a beach or something." He said "Come. I'll show you." He introduced himself as Larry and immediately told me he was homeless (not like I give a shit) and I knew it was a bad idea to encourage him by being friendly, but this shit happens to me all the time. He showed me the beach, asked me to get high with him, and kept repeating that he was single (despite me repeatedly telling him I was married)....I said "Ok, Mahalo for the beach, I'm gonna go now" He sorta got the hit...he parted with these words: "I love you!" What else could I respond back with besides "Yea, love you too, man!!" WOW.