2008-09-21 : Virgo Party and Sugar Craziness...
I think I need a nap. I think I'm having sympathy pains for all the hung over people today that were at the same party as us LAST NIGHT.

It was the Virgo party. I am a Virgo and got to wear a string of Mardi Gras beads (I picked green to match my shirt and the green in my matching argyle stockings), as did OTHER Virgo party attenders. Those that were other astrological signs did NOT get to wear the beads. They DID manage to leave J's backyard (J is also a Virgo, thus, why he throws a Virgo party every year) looking like a tornado swept through it.

Larry and I had "brought" the keg (it was one leftover from our wedding party that didn't even get tapped) but clearly that ran out by 11pm because there were uncountable beer bottles and beer cans (mostly PBR..fucking dog piss..bleh!) all over the yard, by the couches, in the fire pit, etc. Being the good Samaritans that we are, we went over around 10:30 this morning and walked around trying to at least put all the bottles and cans together in one place for recycling. I almost dry heaved when I noticed a pile of puke behind one of the couches (thank god people puked OUTSIDE and not INSIDE the house!)

Several people patted my belly (which hasn't really grown much at all yet) last night. It is funny cuz they all pat WAY too high (probably cuz they don't want to come off as perverts) and they are polite enough to ask instead of just shoving their hands on my stomach.

I walked around eating corn on the cob, and a delicious and huge sausage (I felt almost embarrassed to be eating that in front of several men..it was LONG and well...you can imagine how I must have looked...I just held it gingerly in my hand (it was hot)...no bun, no condiments.) I drank vitamin water...no beer for me.

Earlier I went to the store with K and we were bitching about how so many of our friends (not ALL of them but a lot of them) come to J's parties (that are all pretty much supposed to be potlucks) and don't bring SHIT. Yet they drink as much beer as they want and eat what little food IS brought. I was always taught that when it is a potluck you fucking bring something...even if your ass is broke, you buy a bag of chips or something. K and I ended up going to the store to get more food so people would have something to snack on before the meat was grilled (which usually happens later than it should for whatever reason)..I bought a birthday cake for all of us Virgos. It was delicious but so sweet that it hurt my teeth.

I was getting sort of burned out on the social scene ( I love my friends but sometimes I got nothing to say and I can't wait to get home to my bed) and then a Grateful Dead COVER BAND starting playing. They were good and all but I hate the fucking Dead. I much preferred a couple of our friends sitting around the fire doing country and bluegrass versions of Minor Threat and Misfits songs.

Anyways, Larry and I left at a decent time (before 10 pm) and went this morning to breakfast at "Ye Old Pancake House" (Larry couldn't remember the name of the place this morning and said "Do you want to go eat at um...um....you know..that old dude/old man place?" Being the mind reader that I am I knew exactly where he was talking about (the sign has a caricature of the owner..who is not a YOUNG man, for sure) and I ordered pumpkin pancakes ("Kids Love 'em" is what the menu said.) and Larry laughed at me when I shoved all the cinnamon tinted whipped cream that came on top into my mouth, not saving any for the actual pancakes. In my head I told him to fuck off.

It is HORRIBLE...these sugar cravings. I ate a box of good-n-plenty's yesterday and today I bought some Jelly Bellies. I'm hungry right now and though I haven't had lunch I feel lazy and will either eat a piece of apple pie or of cherry pie (I bought one of each because..well, I'm pregnant and I CAN, damn it!)

Then I will eat some jelly bellies and will be insanely high on sugar (just like I was as a kid..pixie sticks and large slabs of Tangy Taffy) and then I will feel like shit and crash and then I'll be forced to take a nap.

I DID eat beets several times this past week, though. That makes up for the candy consumption, right?