2008-11-07 : Happy Birthday, Sarah! How I wish you were here!
Tomorrow (Nov. 8th), my sister Sarah would have turned 37. Rather than feeling sad this year I just feel pretty numb. I don't know which feeling is worse.

Sarah would be marveling at how bright and adorable her youngest son (whom she was pregnant with when she was killed) is..thank god he survived and that my brother and sis-in-law are doing such a fine job of raising him. She would have been so proud of her older kids, who are doing well in surfing championships (they live in Hawaii). I'd be able to talk to her about what her pregnancies were like and ask her to tell me the birth stories of her children, since I am pregnant, but I cannot do any of this. She will never know her youngest son (and he will only know her from stories and pictures when he is old enough to understand that his mom died when he was born and that his father is the one that killed his mother)..Her children will have to go on without her..as will we all.

I miss you and love you and wish that you could have escaped his abuse. I wish you had never met him (though I am glad that Josiah is alive and well)!!

Happy Birthday, Sarah! Give mom a hug for me!