2009-05-28 : On the Ranch in Arizona...
Geesh. I have no idea when I last did an entry! I feel that motherhood has killed my desire to write on-line (or write anything at all, actually)....Still, I can't completely let my relationship with D-land die, as I've been with it for years and years.

I've been in Prescott Valley, Arizona for a little over a week now. Bella and I are visiting Larry's parents. Larry had to go to the Philippines for work for two weeks and everybody (but me) was convinced I couldn't take care of the baby by myself since I don't drive (and obviously I don't know how to take public transportation, though I've been doing it for years..with or without baby)..Nah, everybody realizes that I'm capable. It is nice not being alone at home, though, and it gives Grammie and Be-pah (I love those nicknames they have self appointed) a chance to spend tons of time with Bella while she is this cute little baby age.

The desert is very beautiful in many ways, and they live in a ranch setting with horses and goats, etc, but I'm getting tired of the dry climate and the dusty brown. I look forward to going back to Oregon, even if it is raining. I miss all the green. Actually, the weather back in OR has been really nice supposedly. I also miss my kitties and my own bed.

I've been co-sleeping with Bella and I Love it. I'd like to do it when I get home but it is more tricky with two adults in the bed. When it is just me and her, no problem. If only L and I had a king sized bed. Still, she doesn't mind her co-sleeper, so she'll probably sleep in that again. She is currently napping in her swing.

Larry misses her (and me) so much and I feel bad that he is missing out on 2 1/2 weeks of her life at this early age. She is growing and growing and babbling up quite a little storm. She is the sweetest thing ever. I'm really blessed in that Bella is a really mellow baby and rarely if ever fussy. As long as she isn't hungry, has a clean diaper and isn't overly tired she is smiling and cooing. I can calm her down very easily if she does get upset. I feel sorry for parents of colicky babies.

That's really about it. I'll try to write more often if I feel inspired. I'm afraid all I'll be writing about is Bella, though. You sort of lose your individuality when you become a mom (or at least for awhile)..it's all about the baby. That probably bores the shit out of most people. I always found it a little dull when friends and co-workers and acquaintances talked about nothing but their children. Now I totally understand!