2011-01-03 : Sweet Red Hearts and Black Swans
I have decided to start being more festive again with home decor (even though our living room still looks like it probably did when it was built circa 1910 (like a shack, basically!)) and am going to be re-using our little potted Christmas tree as a Valentine's Day Tree (St. Patty's Day Tree, 4th of July Tree, and Halloween Tree)..That IS if I can keep it nice and healthy and as long as it grows rather slowly (I don't want it bashing through the ceiling anytime soon). I'm excited about having a year-around "holiday" tree...little red heart lights and vintage valentines cards would be totally cute, and I just love looking at colored lights!!

*******
I saw "Black Swan" yesterday. I saw at the Bijou, which is a great theater, albeit, it is old and the heating system isn't ancient so the front theater I sat in must have been about 50 degrees..I had on a heavy coat but my legs were ice cold when I left the theater. That is ironic, since the movie was very "icy" in many ways. All shades of black and silver and white. It was a dark, dark movie, both in tone and in plot. I LOVED it, though it was hard to watch at point (almost punishing..like sitting through some sort of visual assault) much like watching "Requiem For A Dream" is (which makes sense, since the director is the same in both films)..I took a big sigh of relief when the movie ended, not because it was boring and over-long, but because the last 40 minutes were really intensely wicked in some way. I swear that I heard the audience take deep breaths when exiting the theater. It was truly an experience (a wonderful but disturbing experience)..glad I saw it on the big screen. I wonder what makes me drawn to such dark and surreal movies such as this (or those of David Lynch)..even the books I prefer are tragic, and well, some of the music I love most isn't exactly sunshine and unicorns!! I can't wait to see it again to catch those little things you always miss the first time around.