2011-12-03 : One day this shack will look like a home again..
Bella is napping, I am coughing, Larry is hammering nails into wood beams across our living room ceiling. I am being his handy person..handing him the nail gun (that fucker is HEAVY), holding up one side of the boards (while standing on a ladder, which makes me feel all shaky) while he nails the other end. I like helping him (even if the lovely pepto bismal pink insulation bits fall in my hair...toxic cotton candy)...Some dust got in my eye..I have asthma. I should not be doing this. I'd rather do this, though, than clean the bathroom..God, I hate cleaning the bathroom more than any other room..it just sucks.

We bought some really pretty Xmas wrapping paper today at TJ Maxx. I also tried on some sweaters. The ones that didn't make me look lumpy and frumpy contained a tiny bit of wool (but enough to make me get the shivers. I hate wool. I must be allergic to it.) Bella was fascinated by the imported Nutcrackers. She kept touching their painted grimaces and saying "They are MAD!" That made me laugh.

My step dad is having surgery on Tuesday to remove what might possibly be a carcinoid lung tumor (it is some kind of cancerous tumor but they can't figure out exactly what it is). I know he will be ok, but it still freaks me out a bit. God, cancer SUCKS. I know SO many people who have either struggled with it themselves or have lost a loved one to it.

We have been watching this British series from a few years back called "Shameless". It is really funny, a little sad at times and kind of touching sometimes as well. The Brits seem to make much better sitcoms/series than we do here (in fact, there are U.S. version s of "Shameless" and of "Skins" (I tried to watch the first episode of Skins but it was such a blatant rip-off of the UK Skins that I couldn't deal with it at all). I'd rather just watch the original.

Hmmm..I really want some rhubarb pie, but what else is new?