2012-01-25 : I don't know what to title this so this is the title!
For some reason I have decided to go vegetarian for awhile. I am enjoying it (and it really isn't difficult at all)..but I wonder how long before I crave a big steak or a juicy cheeseburger? I also find myself feeling a little more hungry between meals. I need to eat more nuts, probably, and I would be fine. Wow. BORING!!

Nothing else happening, really. It has been raining nearly constantly (resulting in major flooding of some rivers)..which is actually making me feel all cozy and warm in my house. I am glad I do not live in Mapleton (where houses are typically up on stilts because flooding seems to be a problem there frequently)...seeing news reports of people traveling by canoe..I cannot imagine that.

OH! We will be having a "night away" (from Bella) for the first time ever in early May. I am excited (not because I don't love Bella but because it will be nice for L and I!) L's mom is coming to stay for a week around that time and so we have tickets to see the Arctic Monkeys and The Black Keys play up in Portland. We will be spending the night at a McMenamins that we haven't stayed at yet (Crystal Hotel). We will eventually try to stay at all of their properties. It should be fun for us and I know it will be a blast for L's mom to spend some time with Bella (and vice versa).

I cannot believe how quickly dad seems to have recovered from having an entire lung removed less than 2 months ago. He says he gets tired more easily but other than that he sounds great. The doctors are surprised at how strong he is, as well. Then again, he was never one to EVER get sick..I rarely saw him get even a cold when I was growing up. I am so glad that we have a good relationship now. It took until my 40's but that is ok. It actually took mom and Sarah dying for us both to realize that we are important to each other (and for me to forgive him for being a bit of an a-hole stepdad when I was a teen).

I made veggie pie yesterday. I cheated and didn't make my own crust (well, it feels like cheating to me. Mom always made her own crust, but I am just lazy sometimes, so fuck it) It turned out to be so good. I love pie, any way you slice it (doh, stupid pun!)

Bella is awake now (and has a cold..like the 80th cold in the past 6 months, poor kid). Time to go.