2012-08-09 : Being a good and decent person is overrated.
It doesn't pay to be a good Samaritan these days. It just blows up in your face. 2 days after psycho neighbor went to jail for abusing his mom, a friend of his posted bail. I was mortified when I looked on the jail inmate list and saw he was being released. We fled to a motel that night because we were afraid he would take some sort of revenge for helping his mom. His other family members reassured us that he was calm, not angry with us for becoming involved (like we had a choice..would you turn away an elderly neighbor asking for help?) And he stayed away for a peaceful week..supposedly would be moving in with a friend across town. I was shocked that he was actually adhering to the restraining order his mom had on him. I thought our problems with him were over.

Then yesterday his truck is parked outside his mom's house. Larry calls his sister's house and somebody informs us that his mom dropped the restraining order, so now he is back. He put a ridiculous piece of paper on his fence by our driveway that says: Larry: No Trespassing. He also drew a white chalk line on the sidewalk (our property boundaries)..so, that seems like intimidation: walk up the sidewalk in front of his house and we will be in trouble. What a child. So, either that is the worst of it or he will slowly start to make our lives a living hell. All we did was help his mom..FUCK!! We will ignore him (why would we want to come over there anyway? What a dumbass!) I almost hope he yells threats at us so we can call the cops..we need quite a bit of proof of harrassment before a stalking order would be granted..but we are keeping track and taking pics (including stupid no trespass sign and chalk line)..It slays me to say this (because I feel compelled to an obssessive degree to help abuse victims) but if his mom comes looking for help again we won't be inviting her in..we will just call 911. All of this makes me think about my sister's murder and the abuse she endured before he killed her. I swear I have PTSD from losing her to domestic violence..I cannot stop crying today. I feel disillusioned with humanity. Good people lose and horrible people can do whatever the fuck they want. What is wrong with our world? Violence and hatred and ignorance and injustice. I am becoming bitter and this scares me. I am not a callous person. I don't think of myself and what I can get from other people. I am losing my optimism. When I lose my sense of humor, somebody commit me, please. I just can't understand how doing the right thing can backfire.