2002-11-25 : Drug Symbolism in the Wizard of Oz
I am currently drinking green tea and working on our new "insurance follow-up" module which we were trained on last week. It actually makes my job seem less dull. I like the new system, but I will not go into details about it because that would bore the crap outta everyone, including myself. I really love green tea. It has just a small amount of caffeine, so that it perks me up, but yet it doesn't send me over the edge into bouncing-of-the-walls-jittery-nervous-anxietyland that say coffee or too much coca cola would. Plus there is something really soothing about its acidic taste. Plus I hear it's good for the body (antioxidants and all).

Watched The Wizard of Oz last night on Channel 10. I still love that movie to death, despite the irritating break for commercials and the Channel 10 stars of 7th Heaven and other shows I don't watch. They all talked about their fave parts of the Wizard of Oz, what scared them and blah blah blah, as if I gave a crap what these people think. Anyways, I'm sure everyone gives a crap what I think, if they are reading this, so...I love the fact that they had to bound/strap-down Dorothy's chest to make her look more girlish. I love the fact that you can see where the green make-up on Ms. Witch is starting to rub off in scenes (and I also hear that she got a nasty burn on her face or hands or somewhere from those pyrotechnics they used). I can never spot "the hanging man" in the background during the first Munchkinland scenes. Supposedly a guy either accidentally or intentionally hung him self on the set..this could just be a myth. Supposedly they left that in the movie. I also guess that the silver paint they used on the Tin Man was really toxic (but DAMN it looked good!)...I love the scene where they (but not all of them..why is that?) fall asleep in the poppies and then it snows and they are awakened. Poppies, narcotic nodding off, Snow...symbolic for Cocaine and a quick pick-me-up?? Ok, probably not, but I like to read into things like that. I also REALLY want those ruby slippers, damn it. A pair EXACTLY like that, though I'd have nothing to wear with them.

Jay tells me that only 10% of the world's population dreams in color. The other 90% only dream in black-n-white. I had no idea about this. I assumed that EVERYBODY dreams in color. I mean, I DO!! Jay does...I guess we are the chosen ones!!

Guess what else was on, speaking of the Amish (which I wasn't, but do frequently)?? WITNESS!! It has good parts, but over all, this movie now seems a little cheesy. Esp. the 80's synth soundtrack. I watched it anyway, though. Of course I did. They had buttons on their shirts..that was inaccurate and they even talk in the movie about buttons being prideful (hypocrites)..he he.

I dreamed about being back in Southern Illinois (Carbondale). Guess I was back in college. I was living in the Poplar St. house (I don't think Carrie was there this time..*sniff*) and at one point I couldn't find the house and I was lost in the back alleys of Carbondale. I also remember being in a bathroom that I'd once lived in (in dreamland) and I was remarking on how well they had remodeled it. I know there are more details to this dream but I can't really remember them at this point.