2003-09-14 : My Weekend
We are getting ready to go to Larry's grandparents for Sunday dinner. Had a pretty fun weekend! Friday night Larry and I went to see some bands at Luckey's (a poolhall)..we saw Yeltzen (sp?) Who were kinda indie-rock...they are alright. Then came Sugarpuss...who were all girls (I think they are from California) and they were like Hole mixed with Kittie (I like the Hole part of them and didn't like the Kittie part of them..I hate that low screaming growling vocal style!) and then came The Shudders (Turns out the drummer works at House of Records..I recognized her) who I totally dug. They played all 60's garage covers....Sonics "He's Waiting" (which was a refreshing thing, cuz most people choose "The Witch" or "Psycho"), The Troggs, one of my fave Shadows of Knight songs, a Love song, etc. I danced my ass off and later I suggested to the band members that they needed a go-go dancer with them on stage and that I was the one for the job. They actually liked the idea, but I don't know if I have the nerve now..I do have the boots and dresses, though! It'd be fun and I got the moves down!

Yesterday we went to the Saturday Farmer's Market where I made fun of the group of hippies that were singing "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" but Larry seemed to think I was being non-accepting of Eugene (I had said "Jesus Larry...it's not 1967 anymore" and he said "Hey! This is Eugene!") So I will TRY to be nice to the hippies, I promise! There was also a dude playing old-timey songs on a banjo and I really liked that. I bought some beautifully packaged (and delicious smelling) soaps from a vendor..one is lilac, one is a scent I can't describe (it's just called Parisienne...It smells sort of like violets and candy and apricots and roses) and the other is roseberry, which smells like raspberries and roses...we also got some raspberries and some honey. They have really great produce at this market!

Then we drove around for an hour (Larry was lost) until we found his co-workers house who was having a BBQ. Several of his co-workers were there. I love how he always introduces me: "This is my girlfriend, Stacey"...like he's proud of that. I don't why that makes me happy. I guess other guys I've been with (even husbands) have been bad about saying that sort of thing. I ate alot of yummy food (too much food..had to unbutton that top button on my jeans and felt like just taking my belt entirely off)...we played several games of croquet (croquette?) and that was fun. I suck of course but I tryed my best! I hadn't played croquet since I was a kid. We used to do it alot in our backyard! Then we came back here and gassed each other out on the couch (damn baked beans!) and watched some show about game show bloopers and we started "Reefer Madness" but we just weren't into it and we were really tired (cuz we had stayed up until 4 am the night before) and we were both asleep at 10 pm. I actually didn't get out of bed until 11 am..that's 13 hours in bed...DAMN! Oh, I had to tell this group of 12-year-old boys on the bus who Winston Churchill was. They were jokingly saying that he was a famous rapper..ha ha.