2004-02-25 : Ash Wednesday, Girl with a Pearl Earring, and Salted Licorice
I'm listening to a cd I got from the library right now. The soundtrack to that movie "Bandit Queen" which is mostly done by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. It's really beautiful!! Speaking of beautiful..Larry and I saw "Girl with a Pearl Earring" last night and there was something beautiful about that movie (maybe it was the mixing of the paints or Scarlet Johannsen's gorgeous mouth or something) though it was sort of a somber movie. I liked it though I thought it ended too abruptly and I wish they'd made it a little longer and gone into greater details like the book did. I recommend it, though. I have always loved that painting by Vermeer. I remember first seeing it in college because my friend, Carrie, that I shared an apartment with had a print of it tacked on her bedroom wall.

Before the movie Larry and I went to Cost Plus/World Market (which is right next to the theater we were going to) and we looked around for about an hour. I love that story. I want everything in it!! We ended up buying some German cookies, a Lindt candy bar for me, and he bought these strange German SALTED licorice drops that trick your mouth into thinking you are eating salted herring, though they contain no fish. He had me try one (not explaining the fish phenomena) and it made me gag and I had to spit it out into a napkin (and this was during the movie!) I thought he'd die from laughing. Really funny, Ha Ha. Actually, it was funny. I can't believe they can make salted licorice taste like herring..disgusting.

I'm reading this absolutely funny and vivid book "The Final Confession of Mabel Stark" (Robert Hough)...it's fictional but based on the life of Mabel Stark who existed in real life as a famous lion-tamer/trainer in circuses during the 1920's and 1930's. I can't put the book down...it's told from Mabel's point of view and it's absolutely fascinating and funny.

Happy Ash Wednesday! I can't remember why we went to get the ashes on our foreheads in the shape of crosses on Ash Wednesday when I was younger? My Catholicism has really gone by the wayside (which is fine with me, TOTALLY FINE!) But what's Ash Wednesday about? Any Catholics remember? Is it to mark us as sinners or absolve us from sin?? Speaking of Ash Wednesday, Mel Gibson's big BLOODY JESUS film opens today. I'm not really very interested in it. I think all the controversy over it is just hysterical, actually. I do admire that he filmed it in hebrew or whatever, though!! Maybe I'll wait for it to come to video!