2004-06-03 : The Buzzard with the murderous look in his eye

This morning I felt like I was in an Alfred Hitchcock movie. I was walking to work (out in the country) and I felt something staring at me. I looked to my right and on a fence right next to me was this HUGE (I mean..I've never seen a bird this big) Turkey Buzzard. He was just sitting on the fence staring at me. I think he wanted to eat me!! I've never seen a Buzzard up close (he didn't even attempt to fly away..he obviously has a bad attitude..ha ha!) and I couldn't believe how big and ugly he was. Anyways, I felt like flipping him off for giving me the evil eye, but then I thought "Are you crazy? He's just a big bird." HAHAHAHAHA. It was weird (but cool to see such a giant bird)

So, I got Larry's anniversary presents yesterday..this cool vintage shirt and this funny "Red Devil Punching Puppet"..Have ya'll seen the Punching Puppets? They make a Rabbi one, a Jesus one, a Devil one and a Nun..and they have boxing gloves on and can punch at things...Larry was punching me and then punching himself and then he scared all the cats with it. It's a funny toy!!

As you can tell, I"m in a goofy/happy mood. I changed my work schedule so that I don't have to get up so early anymore. So starting next week I'll be working from 8:30 to 5:00 (instead of 7:30 to 4) and this will give me more than an extra hour of sleep...I'll be getting up more like 6:15 or later..much more reasonable and a more human time to get up!!

I'm listening to Opal right now.."Happy Nightmare Baby"...great album that brings back memories of college. I really liked her when she was in the Dream Syndicate, too. I love "Days of Wine and Roses"..I wonder what happened to my copy of that. hmmmmm...

Anybody seen that Mitsubishi commercial that has the DEVO song "Uncontrollable Urge" in it? I saw it for the first time last night and I just shook my head. It was like when I saw some other car commercial and a Buzzcocks song was playing...what is the world coming to? Or is it actually good exposure for the bands? Nah..does anybody really think that people think "Gee..who does that cool song in that commercial..I'm gonna find out and buy their music!" In a perfect world, maybe.