2004-08-21 : Pre-Code Movies, Fast Typing, Cherry Red Hair and a Red Hot Fight!!!
Hey! I just saw the "perfect" job for me (or at least for now...) in the Eugene Weekly. It is seeking a "fast and accurate" typist with interest in healthcare. Well, I Just happen to have all that medical billing/healthcare experience and I am a typing whiz (typing 70 wpm, 100% accuracy when last tested by a temp agency a few months ago!)...I just mailed a letter of interest and my resume out and MAYBE I'll get this job!! I happen to love typing. I don't know why I love it but I just do. I find the rhythmic speed very relaxing and I find it so EASY (and I've been doing it for so long!)

So my bad mood of the day is slowly dissipating (I sound like I am a weather FRONT!)

Last night we watched one of those fun and racy "Pre-Code" movies. We watched Barbara Stanwyck sleep her way to the top in "Babyface", which was entertaining and was full of great one-liners. Now I'm all obsessed with trying to find tons of Pre-Code movies to watch. I guess the Warner Bro's made the best Pre-code's, in general in the early to mid 1930's. I forget exactly when The Decency Codes were put into place in the film-making industry. I read all that in Kenneth Anger's excellent "Hollywood Babylon" books, but that's been awhile ago.

Watching those 30's movies makes me want to walk around in gorgeous, slinky dresses, only be seen in flatterng black-n-white light, wear red lipstick, chain smoke a bunch (and have a great Art Deco cigarette case) and have my hair set in one of those gorgeous hair-do's (I've got the natural wave, I'm not sure how they achieved the fabulous hair-do's...crimping AND straightening irons and lots of pomade? I'm not sure)...

This morning started out with sex and blueberry pancakes followed by Larry having a ridiculous temper-tantrum and me being pissed off and walking to the library to get away from him and this house. He was reading the Eugene weekly and I had been teasing him (I could tell I was sort of irritating him but I didn't expect him to suddenly BLOW UP at me)..I tickled his knee and then he yelled "Fuck" and threw the newspaper across the room, huffed off the bed, and stormed downstairs (making sure to SLAAMMMM the door as he always does when having a shit-fit)...I smiled and said to myself "That was totally ridiculous...just STUPID!" and then I felt pissed off so I walked to the library. ON the way to the library Larry was coming back in his car and we crossed paths (He left in a HURRY..I didn't even know he was gone..didn't hear his car leave) and he slowed down while I walked the opposite way and I yelled "I'm going to the library" (in a rather cold manner..I'm practicing my Barbara Stanwyck..ha ha) and then I kept on walking. Then he parked the car (I was thinking "JUST GO HOME YOU FUCKER!") and he walked after me and I finally stopped (it felt like some movie, I tell ya!) and he apologized in his own way (He never actually SAYS the words "I'm sorry"..he always launches into an explanation of things...) and I just said "it was a stupid, baby temper tantrum" and I smiled a little and then he smiled a little and he said "Ok. Come on home" and I said "Nope. I'm going to the library." and that is just what I did, and he went back to his car and did God knows what (and I dont' really care) and I read trashy mags at the library for 2 hours, ate a WAY TOO HOT bean burrito at Taco Time and then came back home and have been trying to ignore Larry since we are in the same room, but I guess I'll just stop my own little bullshit avoidance mechanism since I feel my anger leaving. I have no idea what we are doing this weekend. I feel constantly tired these days and all I really want to do is lay around and sleep. Oh, I colored my hair and it is a glorious shade of cherry red right now. I wish it would never fade to the orangey-brown color it does after about 6 weeks.