2004-09-10 : Club Romex and House of Voodew..Who were YOU?
Wow..a secret "blast from my past"..I PROBABLY have seen this person..I might even KNOW them vaguely..WHO ARE YOU? This was the guestbook message they left:

*************************************

Just trying to figure out who the hell you are - I also went to SIU back in the old days and was involved with that Romex/Voodew scene - actually came across this blog by googling for club romex. Hmm. That was a long time ago.

from Nobody

***************************************

Who WAS I? I was Stacey. I went to SIU from 1987-1991. I was very skinny and had pretty large glasses. I had black hair at one point and then red for the last 3 years of school. I looked sort of goth at the beginning and then I didn't try to identify myself as looking like any sort of label. My best friends were Jill and Gigi. I dated Lou Zone for about a week. I always had a crush on Bill Burtner. I knew who Mikey Snot and Steve Ziggler were but I never interacted with them much. I also considered Bill, from the Blue Meanies my friend. I also kissed their old drummer, Kendall, one night and he was a friend as well. I went out with Ron Synovitz for a long time (alot of people seemed to dislike him, but he was around and he roomed with Steve Ziggler (House of Voodew guy) back in Macomb, IL. What else? I was friends with the people in "Hippies with Guns" Chris and Jim. I also knew Aaron Nauth and Jim Reid (God, what was that band they did? Hoopla! That's it..) Man, so many memories. I don't usually give full names in there but if that mystery man/woman comes back then maybe they'll figure out my identity. I'm a long way from Southern Illinois, but I STILL dream about it from time to time. Even way back then I had an inkling (put in my head by ROn, mostly) to move to Eugene, OR, and here I am! Seattle was way cooler to live in, though...maybe one day I'll be back there again, permanently!!

******************************

Onto other subjects...Larry has just "jokingly" (but I detected a serious tone in his voice) given me a list of chores to do: do his laundry, vacuum clean up here and downstairs, sweep the deck and make the bed. Just to prove to him that I'm not as lazy as I lOOK, I will do it ALL!! So there, poophead..ha ha!! Boy will he be surprised when he finds it all done. I figure that since I can't seem to find employment and he's working two jobs (partially to help me out) that the least I can do is clean and cook and all that.

**********************************

I watched "The Awful Truth" with Irene Dunne (she's not a very glamorous/pretty actress but she's funny as hell!) and Cary Grant last night. Great screwball comedy (Yep..I took that description from the back of the box..ha ha!)

***********************************

I was drinking tea out on the deck this morning and eating a banana and some french toast and at one point ALL the cats that live in our house where on the deck together..and there wasn't much fighting, which was amazing. Then my roomies came up (I live with ALL GUYS, including Larry, of course) and it's funny (and sometimes irritating) to hear their "male" point of view on things like female and male friendships. My roomies seem to think that most of the time, males that have female friends have underlying motives...that most guy friends actually wish they could sleep with their female friends. Maybe this IS true..I'm not a guy, but I find that attitude disgusting in a way. I mean, I have several male friends and I don't think they all want to sleep with me..or I HOPE not..Good God!! I guess some people still have an old-fashioned idea that men and women can't TRULY be platonic friends. Personally, I think they can!! What do others think? Is sexual attraction and sex in general REALLY on the brains of most men as much as popular culture likes to say? I just don't know. Boy, I'm rambling. Well, time to be a good house "wife" and do some chores. God, I'm lazy. I'd rather just sit here. Aren't I a bad girlfriend? Ha Ha!