2007-12-28 : Arizona and Baby Booties
Larry and I were in Prescott Valley, Arizona for Christmas and we had a really nice time. I finally got to meet his mom and step dad. I really love them. His mom calls everybody "honey" and is very down to earth and maternal and I felt very comfortable with her. She is interested in some spiritual things that I am so we had a lot to talk about and that was great. I also met Jerry (Larry's younger brother), Jerry's fiance (Jaime) and her daughter, Cierra. Very nice people!

It was chilly and windy but sunny and blue the whole time we were there and that was a nice break from the current gloom of green and grey Oregon.

We went to Jerome (which used to be an old mining town, which then got deserted and turned into a ghost town, and now it is a tourist site)...lots of nice shops, plus it is beautiful up in Jerome.

We also spent a little time in Sedona. The rock formations and mountains around there are stunningly beautiful. I took alot of pictures. Everything was so reddish and the sunsets were gorgeous. I liked seeing all the Cacti around as well.

Anyways, as far as Sedona goes, I have always been curious about it as it is this big new age mecca (but also extremely touristy)...We went to "The Center of the New Age" and I bought some gemstones that I need (red coral, unakite, jade, orange calcite) and just for the fun of it, I forced Larry to get our aura (as a couple) photographed. Ha Ha. It sounds so cheesy. It is cheesy but fascinating to see what colors come up (esp. with two people contributing their own electro magnetic fields)...The primary color was bright red...some dark red over him and a huge blotch of bright yellow over me. The guy that took the photo then analyzed it for us. I don't know if I felt he was accurate but it was still interesting. He said the yellow was an angel watching over me. He said that he felt that Larry and I had strong healer capabilities and that people liked to be around us because we are intense people. Hmmmm...I think Larry and I are kind of the opposite of intense and I don't think of us as being powerful or anything. The healer part (at least for myself) I can sort of see. I also had a short reading with a psychic that reminded me very much of my sister. She was good. I won't go into details but she did say that she had a feeling that I would either get pregnant in March (this March) or give birth in March (next March obviously) and I find that ironic because for the past couple of months I have felt like I would get pregnant in March. Reaffirming this was the fact that Larry's mom got a reading by an entirely different psychic. That psychic said she sensed a birth sometime soon in the family and said the person would conceive in about 3 months (March), so....?? We will see. She also said I should put a pair of pink baby booties and a pair of blue baby booties underneath my pillow. You know I did it, too. Can't hurt. I love these sort of old wives tales.

Aran caught a mouse today. We have one upstairs in our bedroom about once every year or two. I wasn't up there when it happened (thank god) but Larry told me about it. Aran was so proud of herself. I am really creeped out by mice and rats and was happy not to witness Aran in huntress mode.

Not much else going on right now. I don't think we are doing anything for New Years Eve. We both don't feel like dealing with it this year. Driving is a ridiculous idea and it takes hours to get a taxi back home and we don't like the bars that are within walking distance so I think we'll sip a small glass of sherry at midnight while watching Dick Clark's Rockin' New Years...ok, we'll probably skip Dick Clark, actually.