2012-04-10 : You can't have any rice snacks if you don't eat your oatmeal!!
Argh. "Mommy, I want a rice snack.", "Nope, you can have one AFTER you eat oatmeal for breakfast." "NO! I don't want oatmeal. I want a RICE SNACK!" "Well, you aren't getting one, so I guess you are going to be hungry." She also demands candy several times per day since the Easter bunny came. I give her a few jelly beans here and there, but I swear, I shouldn't even PUT candy in her basket (except for me to eat). I should just make my own secret basket full of candy (only I really do want to stop eating sugar as I know it isn't good for me at all and I feel much more even-keeled emotionally if I have no sugar)..eh, but I LOVE sugar. I watch too many healthy eating documentaries. I need to stop. Guess who ended up asking for oatmeal? :)

Larry has just finished a 21 day juice-only fast. He lost 21 pounds and feels better and better about himself (and I admit to being much more attracted to him when he has no gut..now he just needs to limit his consumption of high calorie Pacific NW microbrews!) He is only able to eat small amounts of fruits and veggies for the next several days and then he can ease his way back to "normal" food. I am going to try this juice fast (our juicer rocks!) for 14 days starting June 1st (part of me wants to whimp out, though). The thought of detoxifying myself (I don't think I am THAT toxic. I don't sit around smoking, drinking and eating Twinkies and beef jerky every day) and losing 15-20 pounds would be great!! It really sucks to have shop for new clothes when your old ones are too big (It partially does suck because we don't have a bunch of extra cash to blow on clothes)

I watched this cute movie yesterday, "Today's Special". It was about this guy who is about to guy apprentice with a famous chef in Paris but has to stay behind in New York and deal with his father's rundown Indian restaurant when the father has a heart attack. It made me REALLY want some malai kofta and naan. Ok, enough about food.

I am in a book club now, which is fun. My boss invited me (we sometimes hang out outside of work, which is cool..we kind of feel like we have to hide it from the other people I work with. None of them seem to like her much for various (and stupid, in my honest opinion) reasons. It is like we are having an affair or something. Anyways, the book club meets every 6 weeks for munchies and wine and to discuss for a short period of time the book we just read. I can't host it here yet because our living room still looks like a shack (though a shack with dry wall up finally!) so I can use my bosses house. It is nice to hang out with a bunch of women and eat and drink. I have friends here but I don't really socialize all that much. The selection for the next meting is by Alice Hoffman (I have read a few of her other books and she is fantastic). This one is called "The Dovekeepers" and follows the paths of four different women in ancient Israel. So far I really like it. I am only on page 13, though!!

I also am feeling happy these days because I have an actual old-fashioned pen pal. Her name is Sara and she and I met through an on-line parenting debate site (and now a Facebook group) and we have tons in common and I find her intelligence and humor really refreshing, plus she is just super nice. I hope to meet her one day, which will probably happen as her husband has family that live in Portland.

Larry bought me a new light therapy lamp and I really like it. It is much smaller than my other one but is just as powerful. It simply sits on the desk instead of being a HUGE box hanging on the wall behind the computer. It sucks to have SAD but light therapy totally helps. Hopefully I can stop using it in a month or two (though June around here can be rainy. It seems like summer really begins in July and goes through October 1st.)

Um, Easter was nice. Bella seemed to enjoy hunting for plastic eggs more than what was in her Basket, which totally surprised me. She has also started up in gymnastics again on Saturday mornings. She loves it. I wish she was a little less hyper and listened to instructions better, though. I find myself feeling frustrated with her because the other kids listen better (and some of them are younger than her). Oh well, that is what being 3 is all about, I suppose.