2002-07-05 : Karoake at a BBQ and rotten.com
The 4th of July BBQ that we went to turned out to be pretty fun, despite not knowing anyone (and the fact that it was pretty white-trash..sorry, but I admit to being semi-judgemental sometimes...deal with it)..The thing that was most white-trash about the party was the very PREGNANT woman I saw smoking. That was just WRONG! But anyways, I can't knock free food (which was actually very GOOD!) and free beer (which was just average beer in a keg). I met some nice people, in particular, a girl from Scotland. She was very cool and down to earth. I drank just enough beer not to be DRUNK but to have enough nerve to sing a few songs (they were doing karoake). I got up there (while it was hailing, by the way, not a usual Nw occurrence, but the weather is ALWAYS rainy or foul on the 4th..wonder why!) So, I sang "I Love Rock-N-Roll". It was a blast, though I doubt I did a very good impression of Joan Jett. I did try my best on the "Yow" parts! I tryed to growl like a tiger grrrl!! Then Jason and I got up and did "I wanna be Sedated" (one of my LEAST favorite Ramones' songs, but it was the only one available). We did pretty good on that..I think the crowd loved us..Maybe we should form a band together. Oh wait, we already tryed that and I don't wanna be in a band. Anyways, the weather got crummier and some of us moved inside. Jason played poker while I talked to Katie and Steena (? The girl from Scotland), then we got bored and Jason and I left. Then when I got home I made the mistake of indulging my intensly MORBID curiosity and so I went to rotten.com and other related sights featuring disturbing photos of suicides, car crash (and train crash...eek!), and murder victims. Very gruesome. I am pretty disturbed today because I can't seem to stop thinking about some of the pictures. The less gruesome ones actually disturbed me more (like the suicides hanging in their bathrooms...god..oh my god) So, I probably shouldn't have done that cuz now I'm all obsessive-compulsive about the images. I'm trying to control my mind, but it is not easy and these horrid images keep popping up. I wish now I didn't have such a morbid sense curiosity. I can't help it though and I imagine I'll find myself looking at these sights again one day. I really shouldn't though.