2003-12-15 : Free Xmas Trees and Shallow People that I work With
Louise Erdrich's newest novel, "The Master Butcher's Singing Club" is a marvelous book. I wish I could write as hypnotically and beautifully as she always has. You all must read it..esp. if you've ever liked her other books. I got into when I read "Love Medicine."

I can feel the valerian capsules co-mingling nicely with my nightly klonopin and I'm feeling sleepy, but not loopy drugged. Sleepytime for me very soon..very soon, but I want to finish the book, first.

I didn't mind "the job" so much today, though my back screams out whenever I'm continually shifting boxes, pulling eobs, etc, which I did alot of today, but I felt like I accomplished more than I have since I've been there, and I feel more independent and less ignorant. I honestly just don't really care much for any of the people that work there. I feel that I don't fit in. I know I'm a music snob, so sue me, but why should I feel strange because I protest against having to listen to the "Boyz II Men" Christmas album in my work area....YUCK!! Then somebody was talking about how they actually think Mariah Carey, Celine Dion, and Whitney Houston are talented. I know people are entitled to their own opinions, but jesus fuck, I'm surrounded by culturally shallow morons!! It just gets on my nerves. Most of the people are "friendly" in a very subtle and superficial way that I can't stand, or they are just down right icky..they give me "bitch" vibes..it's so strange. I usually don't have this problem when I go places...maybe I"m giving out the "I hate you all and think you are idiots" vibe. Maybe they all think I'm a snob...sometimes I care, but mostly I don't give a crap what they think and thank GOD I'll be done with this fucking temp job by the end of February. Still, I am looking forward to the fancy Xmas party the company is hosting on Saturday at a vineyard..free wine-tasting, a DJ (who will probably play shit-ass music, but maybe he can through in "Tainted Love" or "Come on Eileen" or "Satisfaction" or something for me...I'm also looking forward to seeing Larry in a nice pair of pants, shirt and tie, cuz he looks really sexy dressed up, and I'm looking forward to wearing my cute little short red velvet dress (if it still fits..egad..I better try it on now!)

Our roomie, Scott, got a beautiful fat Christmas tree and brought it home for us. It smells heavenly and we put what few decorations I brought with me from Seattle on it and it's starting to look pretty.

Well, I'm off to read and sleep and dream...goodnight!