2003-12-18 : Carmels in the morning and Letting Go of Anger
Being an adult is all about eating candy or cake at 6 am, which is exactly what I'm doing. Eating Fannie Mae Carmels that mom sent to me in a Xmas package that I received yesterday. YUM! She also sent me a box of Fannie Mae fudge (double YUM!), two really nice citrusy-smelling candles, some $$, and this really pretty faux-antique bracelet that is silver with rhinestones and little painted flowers and bees and even a tiny ladybug..I love it.

Here is a saying I need to take more to heart:

***************************************

We have a saying in Tibet. "If you lose your temper and get angry, bite your knuckles." This means that if you lose your temper, do not show it to others. Rather, say to yourself, "Leave it."

-His Holiness the Dalai Lama

***************************************

Larry and I got in a fight the other night. I was stewing (unusual for me, I usually just let it right out) about his inability to communicate or show love the way I need him to and so I started talking to him about it when we were trying to go to sleep (I don't know why I always do this, but I have bad timing when it comes to discussing stuff)...Anyways, he got really defensive and pissed off and said he was going to sleep in his car (which I found ridiculous, considering his car is a small 1974 MG..yea, that's real comfy!) and so he left. He came back about 20 minutes later and we sorted everything out and made up.

THen yesterday, I felt really angry at my job. I started out ok in the morning, but by mid-afternoon I was just stewing on how much I generally hate this place and the work I do, and I was so frustrated with conflicting feelings of "I want to just quit NOW" and "Just finish out the assignment..you have good days and bad days"..that I had to go to the bathroom and cry because when I feel conflicted about something like this job I get so frustrated that I just have to cry. Anyways, I calmed down. I decided to treat myself to a bookstore stop after work, and ended up buying Michael Faber's "The Crimson Petal and the White", which should keep me busy for awhile (it's more than 700 pages)..it's all about a prostitute and her surrounding (miserable surroundings) in Victorian England..So far it's really great. It was on sale, too, which is always great, since I prefer to buy used books, but only The University Bookstore was open after work and they sell purely new books.

Well, that's about it. Oh yea, infrequency told me that Jack White might have beat up that Von Bondies' guy because Meg White is or was living and or dating one of the Von Bondies..hmmmm....stupid rock stars..ha ha!Ps..when I came home yesterday, there was a bouquet of red tulips (my fave!) sitting in a vase on our coffee table in our room. Larry's very sweet "apology"...He's a great boyfriend!