2007-01-03 : 2007: year of adventure and reconnecting with old friends
Ok. I'm TRYING to get used to Larry's laptop because I'm re-watching "Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou" which is on cab le. It's a funny flick but mostly I love the soundtrack. I remember discussing the viewing of this movie with a certain guy named Buddy L. Savage. We talked about nearly chair dancing while in the theater when Devo or The Stooges or early Bowie would come on. I think I'll finally get to meet Buddy at the end of February when I spend a few days in San Fan (with my whacky and beautiful friend, Adaveen..damn, wish she'd update her diary !) before flying to Amsterdam on Feb. 27. I can't believe that it is less than 2 months now that I will be leaving. I am so excited and somewhat neurotically (typical!) nervous.

One of my favorite diarylander's, AtomicBuddha (You KNOW I'm too lazy to actually link...) is back on Diaryland for the first time in almost a year and I'm excited to catch up with her.

2007 already seems to have started with reconnecting with old friends. I had lost track of my former boyfriend, Jon, whom I had NEVER lost track of until two years ago..we were always great friends. Anyways, the last number I had for him was disconnected and I didn't have the current email address or anything either. I felt helpless because I really wanted to tell him about Sarah and my mom. Right before Christmas I paid $9.99 on Peoplefinders.com and was able to locate what I hoped was a new phone# for him (luckily I knew his full name and date of birth and I assumed he was still living in Carbondale, IL) and I left a few messages for him on his machine but it turns out he was out of town and finally I called last night and he picked up and we must have talked for 2 hours. I feel like there are so many people (in my real life and cyber life) to catch up with. It gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling, actually (hahaha..fuck you if you are laughing at me!)

I had a massage yesterday afternoon and my body hurts today AND I think I somehow managed to wake up with a cold. GREAT. This will be the 3rd cold since late September that I've had. I'm trying to nip it in the bud with apple cider vinegar in water, EMERGENCY (those little packets of mega doses of vitamin C and other vitamins)...I used to get a cold maybe once every 4 years or so, but man, my immune system must be SHOT. I guess it's all due to grief and stress. I eat fine, sleep 9+ hours a night), am not working, etc..so why do I keep getting a cold every single fucking month?? Oh well..I'll deal with it.

I stopped by House of Records and bought an issue of "Magnet" because Cat Power was on the cover. I also bought T. Rex's "The Slider" because I only have it on album, and I bought The Gun Club's 1st album. I'd heard a few of their songs (and 16 horsepower covers at least one) and that is how I became exposed to them. So far I really dig what I hear.

Larry's mom had sent me a "giftcard" that you use like any old credit card and I blew the whole thing on music dvd's!! We went to Best Buy and I ended up buying "Dig" (with more added bonus features..it's that Brianjonestownmassacre vs. Dandy Warhols documentary)..I also bought a collection of Sonic Youth videos that span from 1990 through the present, mostly which means it won't have "Death Valley 69" on it but that is ok. What else did I get? Oh Don Lett's made this film called "Punk Attitude" which chronicles the punk rock scenes in America and the U.K. Some of it is well done..some of it isn't quite as well done. Also picked up a "Roxy Music and T-Rex Live" dvd that shows some performances from mid to early 70's..very cool, but far too short! god, that isn't it..oh yea, A collection of Devo videos (including footage of their first live show EVER) and also "The Syd Barrett Story"....I haven't managed to watch any except the Trex/Roxy Music and the "Punk Attitude" dvds...ok, this was really boring unless you like music as much as I do.

Larry and I are going up to Portland tommorrow afternoon (he has to take his car into the Mini cooper dealership early on Friday morning...there is no dealership in Eugene) so we are staying at the HI Hostel in downtown Portland (where I'll spend even more money on music and books, I'm afraid. I should have some goddamn will power..) and then on Friday night we are spending the night at Edgefield (a former orphanage turned into a cool hotel)...I'm hoping to go to the Portland Art Museum on Saturday before we head back here.

I've got more to write about but my head aches and my nose is pouring out what looks like split pea soup (Sorry...that was totally unnecessary!!)

Happy 2007, my friends and thank you for all the support you have all lended me this past year. I know that 2007 will be a year of adventure and NOT nearly as much a year of pain..and for this I feel blessed!!