2009-01-13 : Satanic Cat and Splenda Cookies
Satan lives in our cat, Mouse. I swear to God. The looks she gives and the hoarse (she must smoke) whines and complaints she dishes out are purely evil. She is actually LESS neurotic and a little more affectionate than she used to be, if you can believe that!

I'm waiting for the kitchen floor to be dry. I "swiffered" it. Larry and I have decided that in many ways Swiffers suck. Mostly it is the cleaning liquid that sucks because it seems to attract MORE dust, thus the floor doesn't stay clean for very long at all. Then again, the floor doesn't stay clean because of all the fucking remodeling going on in this house, and because we live in rainy, muddy Oregon, and because we don't have a rug by the back door because the cats have always peed on something like that. Bastards. Still, I couldn't take the griminess of the kitchen floor any longer, especially since I had thoroughly cleaned the REST of the kitchen yesterday (AND made Irish Soda bread and corned beef and cabbage and boiled potatoes)..nope, it isn't St. Patrick's Day but one can eat that "traditional" meal (ha..nobody in Ireland eats this meal on March 17th, I don't think) more than once a year, right? I should have Larry get some rye bread, swiss cheese, sauerkraut and 1000 Island dressing so I can make reubens for dinner tonight.

Ok, enough domesticity. Actually, I don't have anything else to write about. My life consists of waddling around, checking out my big belly when I get out of the shower (and slathering lotion all over it), patting my big belly when the baby decides she wants to break dance, step dance, ball room dance AND kick out my vagina AND belly button all at the same time. Her hiccups feel like a tiny ticking time bomb. I'm not complaining, though.

So, I've had a heart monitor for a week to track my "racing heart" (which hasn't had any issues since I went to Urgent Care on New Years Eve), I've worn it maybe a few days here and there. It is easy to just blow it off when I am not having any heart issues. I figured out that my heart really does race when A. I'm starting to have a panic attack. B. I've had too much sugar. So I've tried cutting out as much sugar as humanly possible and that has made a big difference. It sucks because I want dessert, though. I did go into the diabetic section of the grocery store and get some cookies that are made with Splenda. I haven't tried them yet. I also bought a cake mix that has reduced sugar (by 50%) and I eat just a tiny bit of cake here and there.

Ooops, gotta go. The oven is signaling me that my little quiche is done!

Happy January! I have my baby shower on Jan. 24th and am looking forward to it!