2003-10-07 : The Magdelene Sisters and Horatio Nelson Jackson
Egad. I don't feel like doing anything but laying around or sleeping today. I went to get a refill of my sedative (klonopin) yesterday but the pharmacist said they had to contact my doctor first, which pissed me off because I just had the doctor do a new refill LAST month and she obviously only made the refill for 1 month..ridiculous! So I wasn't able to take the klonopin yesterday. Hopefully today they'll have it ready. I don't know if it was my imagination or what, but just from not taking that stuff one night I woke up this morning about 6:15 and was tingly all over and had a near panic-attack experience. I took 2 valerian and did some deep breathing and hoped I could get back to sleep, which I finally did. I still feel sort of this weird "tingly/electric" feeling.

Yesterday afternoon I met Larry after work at a tavern in Eugene called Max's, where I drank some water while he drank a little beer. Then we went to see the 4:55 showing of "The Magdelene Sisters"...what a fantastic and utterly heartbreaking movie. Fucking Catholic church...it just reconfirmed why I hate that church so much. I urge all of you to see it. I can't believe these "sweat shops" were open in Ireland until as recently as 1996. Sickening!!

After the movie, we ate at the Outback Steakhouse..Whoo, Whoo! Nothing special there, but it filled me up! Then we watched the PBS special on Horatio Nelson Jackson's drive across America (He was the first person to successfully drive an auto from coast to coast..in 1903!) It was a really interesting documentary.

Well, I'm gonna go read or go back to sleep or something.