2005-07-17 : Hike It!!
Yowza! I'm HOT. It's 8:02 pm and probably still between 85 and 90 degrees outside (which makes it feel like 105 degrees up here in our bedroom)...It's days like this that make me wish our air conditioner worked (though I believe Larry told me that the air doesn't really cool this room off, just like the heat doesn't really keep it very warm in the winter)..I took a coldish shower and am wearing lavendar babydoll pajamas, so that helps a little, but I still feel like I can't do anything besides lie on the bed with the fan blowing all over me.

We got up early this morning and drove to Cottage Grove and ate breakfast at Cafe Shelaigh, which was good. We'd never been there before and Cottage Grove was on the way to a trail we were going to hike. We both ate something called an "Italian Strata"..it was delicious and gave us both plenty of gas.

Then we drove out past Dorena (and Larry's grandparents house) and took a 3.5 mile (total/roundtrip) hike that went up to a gorgeous waterfall. The hike was not easy and I thought at points that I couldn't possibly go any further (the trail was very up and down (and steep) for the whole hike) and at other times my fear of heights (because the trail was fairly narrow and the drops off the one side were fairly scary) really kicked in and I was sure I'd get so dizzy that I'd just fall over the side and die or something. I can't really say I enjoyed the hike because I was having to watch my footing so much and wasn't able to just walk a straight path, looking at all the beautiful nature, but I did it anyway, with minimal complaint. By the time we were done I was sweaty, cranky and sore. Maybe it'll be easier next time. The path actually goes BEHIND the waterfall and that was pretty amazing plus the mistiness of the water felt great on my face. We might go camping at a campground that is fairly close to where our hike was..maybe next weekend. I haven't been camping for almost two years (I went camping about 2 weeks after I first moved down here!)

It was good to relax and Larry's grandparents after the exhausting hike and I just laid, fairly comatose, on the couch and watched some of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (the original which was playing on TCM) and then we ate "sloppy chicken" (which was bland) and had bread pudding for dessert (which was So yummy, I gotta make that stuff myself sometime)

We saw "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" yesterday morning (which we all loved...I don't think many people in the audience really got some of the humor...Scott, Larry and I were laughing like stoned hyaenas the whole time)..I won't say that I like the remake better than the original, but I like them both for different reasons.

Oh GOD. I fear that I'm going to MEEELLLLTT..just like the Wicked Witch of The West!!