2006-11-28 : Boring entry about movies and pot roast
I am feeling better emotionally, although I've had this nasty cold now for almost a week. It is slowly getting better, though. It has been lightly snowing outside since last night. It is really pretty watch and I'll cherish it because we don't get much snow around here and this may be the last of the year.

Missy the Cat seems interested in playing with the snow but as soon as I open the door she just rubs her head on it and steps away from it. Guess she can feel that it is too cold.

I made a roast beef with potatoes and carrots last night and finally have mastered how to make a GOOD gravy. I felt like mom cooking that meal for some reason. Man, I miss her (and her pies!)

I'm not an overly domesticated person but sometimes it does feel nice to cook a nice dinner for Larry when he's been working hard all day. He isn't supporting me financially now but still..I am not working and have the extra time.

I tried to meditate a little yesterday afternoon but that only lasted about 10 minutes. I need to keep it up consistently, though. It helps me in many ways (always has when I have done it in the past)

I am reading John Steinbeck's "Travels with Charley"...I'm not a big Steinbeck fan but this memoir of him travelling the US with his dog (Charley) when he is almost 60 is a good read!

Larry and I watched "Factotum" the other night. It is based in part on Bukowski's book of the same title (plus some of his other short stories)...I don't think Matt Dillon was right for the part. He wasn't seedy or dirty enough. I'm not a huge fan of Bukowski (being a woman and all) but I've read several of his books (Larry likes him a lot) and he does have a funny sense of humor.

I want to go see "The Queen" but I really don't want to take the bus anywhere when it is snowing out and when I'm still fighting this cold. I'll just watch more On Demand.